BELHELVIE COMMUNITY COUNCIL

APPROVED MINUTES OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING - 2018

Date: Monday 19th February 2018

Venue: Balmedie Primary School

Chair: David Watson Secretary: David Wallace (Not Present) Minute Taker: John Fletcher Vice chair: David McKendrick Treasurer: Scott Wilkinson

Members present: David Watson, David McKendrick, Drew Robertson, Alan Smith, Richard Miller, Scott Wilkinson, John Fletcher.

Member apologies: David Wallace, Christine Murray, Phil Mann

Mid- Formartine Area Councillors present :, Cllr. Andrew Hassan (returning officer at this meeting), Cllr. Karen Adams Mid- Formartine Area Councillor not present: Cllr. Paul Johnson, Cllr. Jim Gifford

Visitors: None

1. Opening Address and Introductions

The chairman welcomed all present to the 2018 AGM and reminded them to switch off mobile phones/electronic devices and asked that all matters be addressed through the chair. Thanks was given to Cllr. Andrew Hassan for agreeing to chair the proceedings and perform the duties of returning officer.

2. Approval of minutes of previous AGM

All present were asked to read the minutes of the 2017 AGM. No amendments were made and the minutes were proposed as correct by A. Smith and seconded by S Wilkinson.

3. Matters Arising

D Watson brought to the attention the nomination of office bearers due to members not being present. A reply was given by Claire Young stating Office bearers can be nominated if absent, absent members cannot nominate.

4. Chairman's Report

Paper attached.

5. Treasurer's Report

Paper attached.

6. Address by Returning Officer, Cllr Andrew Hassan

Cllr. Hassan praised the Council members for their commitment and service and highlighted the impressive work carried out by the office bearers.

He also offered his thanks for the honour of being asked to perform the duty of returning Officer at this AGM.

He announced one **new Community Councillor: Ian Downie**. Ian was present and was warmly welcomed as a new elected member.

He also announced the resignation of **Alan Smith.** Alan was thanked for his valued service and his excellent contribution to the Community Council.

Current members of the Community Council who are continuing were named as:

David Watson, David Wallace, Drew Robertson, Christine Murray, Richard Miller, John Fletcher, David McKendrick, Scott Wilkinson and Phillip Mann.

The Election of Office Bearers Returning Officer called for nomination of office-bearers for the coming year.

Chairman - D Wallace, proposed by D Watson and seconded by D McKendrick - **nomination accepted in absentia.**

Vice-Chairman – D.Watson, proposed by D McKendrick and seconded by D Robertson - **nomination accepted**.

Secretary – No nominations made therefore position left open/vacant for the present. **Treasurer** – **S.Wilkinson** proposed by D Robertson and seconded by D McKendrick - **nomination accepted**.

Planning Reporter – I Downie was nominated by D.Robertson and seconded by S Wilkinson. - **nomination accepted**.

Meeting Minutes Taker - This task was previously included within the Secretary's duties but with no Secretary nominated will need to be addressed on a meeting by meeting basis.

It was agreed that the Council Roles & Responsibilities Charter be revised to reflect the election of all the new office bearers and council members.

Date & Venue of Next Annual General Meeting (as per the recently revised Community Council Establishment Guidelines)

Monday 18th June 2018 - Venue: Balmedie Primary

The Returning Officer thanked all present for their work and wished the new committee well. He then declared the 2018 Annual General Meeting closed.